The Batman

Like the Caped Crusader himself you

Fly into my dreams and arrest my train

Of thoughts just before it flies of the cliff but

As soon as the sun touches my eyes I

Find that you’re gone, just a shadow in my

Imagination, another ghost in my past.

It’s five seconds to midnight, and all of my lights

Are flickering as the bombs count down my final

Seconds of living and you’re battling the Joker on

Top of the building and I wonder if you can see me all the

Way down here, if you even know me or care that

It’s my life you’re fighting for even though you’ve

Never met me and I only see you in my dreams.

But you’re too late, I’m already broken, the

Shards of my soul have been scattered by a different

Villain, and there’s nothing left for you to save but the

Ashes that could fit in a pill bottle if you really tried.

So fly into the night and save some other girl because

This one’s already broken and her love is broken, too.

I’m just another broken dreamer waiting at the

Window for a superhero to appear, but no superhero

Wants a girl whose too far gone to ever be whole again.

4 thoughts on “The Batman

Leave a comment